RIHSS (Home)

Boys Tennis


Current Standings

Past Standings


Team W/L Records

Team W/L Records



Division I

Division II

Division III

Division IV (Defunct)





RI New England Titles

Regular Season (All Sports)

Regular Season

Boys Tennis Title Totals

Individual School Pages (All Sports)

School Totals (All Sports)

All Sports' Championships Year by Year (Every Division)

All Sports' Championships Year by Year (Top Divisions)

Notes on High School Championships


Championship Results

Division I

Division II

Division III

Division IV (Defunct)



Current Results

Past Results


First Years of Teams in the RIIL


New England Championship Information

New England Council

Boys Tennis Singles Champions


1936- Robert Low
1937- William Gillespie

1941- Jerry Dwyer
(Portsmouth Priory, Now Portsmouth Abbey)
1942- George Taylor (East Providence)

1946- Ralph Carson (St. George’s)

1949- Jack Corcoran (Rogers)

1952- Walter Hackett (Pawtucket East, Now Tolman)
1953- Walter Hackett (Pawtucket East)
1955- Jeff Winicour (Classical)
1956- Leo Connerton (La Salle)

1957- Jack DeVereaux (La Salle)
1958- Gerry Dupont (La Salle)
1960- Herbert Kaufman
(Cranston, Now Cranston East)
1962- Frank Durao
(Pawtucket West)
Frank Durao (Pawtucket West)
1964- Bruce Kiernan (Pawtucket West)
1965- Joe Cavanagh
(Cranston East) JR
1966- Joe Cavanagh (Cranston East) SR
1967- John Bennett (Cranston East)
1968- Bruce Werchadlo
1969- Charlie Einsiedler (Pilgrim) SO
1970- Charlie Einsiedler (Pilgrim) JR
1971- Charlie Einsiedler (Pilgrim) SR
1972- John Voikos (La Salle)
1973- Hal Gorman (East Providence)
1974- Hal Gorman (East Providence)
1975- Hal Gorman (East Providence)
1976- Andy Chase (Cumberland)
1977- Andy Chase (Cumberland)
1978- Gary Gorman (East Providence)
1979- Bruce Phillips (Cranston West) JR
1980- Bruce Phillips (Cranston West) SR
Sedgwick Gray (East Providence) SR
1982- Gordie Ernst (Hendricken) FR
1983- Gordie Ernst (Cranston East) SO
1984- Gordie Ernst (Cranston East) JR
1985- Gordie Ernst (Cranston East) SR
1986- Dave Capobianco (Hendricken)
1987- Dave Capobianco (Hendricken)
1988- Tom Evans (Lincoln)
1989- James Robles (Barrington)
1990- James Robles (Barrington)
1991- James Robles (Barrington)
1992- Aaron Berman (Portsmouth)
1993- Alex Howard (Wheeler) SO
1994- Alex Howard (Wheeler) JR
1995- Alex Howard (Wheeler) SR
1996- Jamie Gresh (Barrington)
1997- Jamie Gresh (Barrington)
1998- Jamie Gresh (Barrington)
1999- Justin Singer (South Kingstown) SR
2000- Andy Singer (South Kingstown) FR
2001- Andy Singer (South Kingstown) SO
2002- Mark Santucci (Ponaganset) SR
2003- Andy Singer (South Kingstown) SR
2004- Jared Dorfman (La Salle) JR
2005- Kevin Shaughnessy (South Kingstown) JR
2006- Jeff Cote (Warwick Vets) SR
2007- Kyle Burke (South Kingstown) SO
2008- Kyle Burke (South Kingstown) JR
2009- Kyle Burke (South Kingstown) SR
2010- Jesse Frieder (Wheeler) SR
2011- Matt Kuhar (Smithfield) FR
2012- Jared Donaldson (Ponaganset) FR

2013- Matt Kuhar (Smithfield) JR
2014- Matt Kuhar (Smithfield) SR
2015- Zach Johnson (East Greenwich) JR
2016- Jason Scanlon (Barrington) SR
2017- Nick Fontecha (Central) JR

2018- Max Schmidhauser (Classical) SO
2019- Max Schmidhauser (Classical) JR

2020- Season cancelled due to virus



Special thanks to Henry Coleman, Charlie Einsiedler, Sedge Gray, Ric Gresh, and Bruce Phillips for contributing to this list




FR = Individual champion was a Freshman

SO = Individual champion was a Sophomore

JR = Individual champion was a Junior

SR = Individual champion was a Senior




  • Unsure when RIIL first began crowning Boys Singles Champions (earliest known is 1936)

Links for Current Standings, Scores and Schedules


Providence Journal


Information on Schools & the RIIL

For questions, comments, corrections, or suggestions relating to this site, please email:


NOTE: This web site and myself are not associated with the RIIL or any school; If you have any questions outside of the content of this site, please direct them to the appropriate contact information on the RIIL web site

Back to Home Page