RIHSS (Home)

Boys Cross Country


Current Standings

Past Standings


Team W/L Records

Team W/L Records



Team State

Class A

Class B

Class C

Class D (Defunct)


RI New England Titles

RI Northeast Regional Titles




Boys Cross Country Title Totals

Regular Season (All Sports)

Individual School Pages (All Sports)

School Totals (All Sports)

All Sports' Championships Year by Year (Every Division)

All Sports' Championships Year by Year (Top Divisions)

Notes on High School Championships



Current Results

Past Results



First Years of Teams in the RIIL


Projo All State




RITCA All Class & All Division




Other Cross Country Sites

RI Mile Split

Ocean State Running

RIHS Track and Field

New England Council


Boys Cross Country State Meet Individual Champions


1946- Louis Lepry (La Salle)
1947- Conrad Tetrault (La Salle)
1948- Rocco Negris (North Providence)
1949- Bill Newman (Hope)
1950- Tom Croasdale (East Providence)
1951- Bob Allen (East Providence)
1952- James Corrigan (La Salle)
1953- Bill Hanlon (La Salle)
1954- Ray St. Vincent (Barrington)
1955- Manuel Rocha (Hope)
1956- Tony Iasa (Barrington)
1957- Mike Dundin (La Salle)
1958- Tony Marionetti (La Salle)
1959- Tony Marionetti (La Salle)
1960- Lee Daneker (Cranston East)
1961- Harvey Franklin (Hope)
1962- Harvey Franklin (Hope)
1963- Tom Foley (North Kingstown)
1964- Tony Masi (La Salle)
1965- Tony Masi (La Salle)
1966- Dick McLaughlin (Cumberland)
1967- Bill DeFusco (Mt. Pleasant) SR
1968- Hollie Walton (Hope)
1969- George Ferreira (Rhode Island School for the Deaf)
1970- Pete Mazzei (Mt. Pleasant)
1971- Willie Walton (Hope)
1972- Gary Hague (Cranston West)
1973- Mike Murphy (Middletown)
1974- John Murphy (Portsmouth Abbey)
1975- John Murphy (Portsmouth Abbey)
1976- Charlie Doherty (La Salle)
1977- Charlie Doherty (La Salle)
1978- Darren Rojas (Hendricken)
1979- Steve Parker (Hendricken)
1980- Paul Haupt (Rogers)
1981- Glenn Walsh (Cumberland)
1982- Waldo Manning (Hendricken)
1983- John Duggan (South Kingstown) SO
1984- Mike Pieroni (Rogers)
1985- John Duggan (South Kingstown) SR
1986- Walter Smith (East Providence)
1987- John Hines (Toll Gate)
1988- Neal Butler (St. Raphael)
1989- Wayne Newsom (Hope)
1990- Scott Palumbo (St. Raphael)
1991- Dan Cicchelli (North Kingstown) JR
1992- Dan Cicchelli (North Kingstown) SR
1993- Jamey Vetelino (Westerly)
1994- Scott Goff (Barrington)
1995- Jay Champi (Cumberland) SO
1996- Brian Norton (North Kingstown) SR
1997- Jay Champi (Cumberland) SR
1998- Jerry Bonner (Cumberland) SO
1999- Jim Cyre (Tolman)
2000- Ryan McConnell (Hendricken) SR
2001- Garrett Vaslet (St. Raphael) SR
2002- David Murphy (Hendricken) SR
2003- Adam Moitoso (Hendricken) SR
2004- Tom Webb (Barrington) JR
2005- Tom Webb (Hendricken) SR
2006- Andrew Palumbo (Hendricken) SR
2007- Bronson Venable (Hendricken) SR
2008- Andrew Springer (Westerly) SR
2009- Jake Sienko (Hendricken) SR
2010- Bob Allen (Cranston West) SR
2011- Mike Marsella (Chariho)
2012- Trevor Crawley (Cumberland)
2013- Colin Tierney (Hendricken)
2014- D.J. Principe (La Salle)
2015- D.J. Principe (La Salle)
2016- D.J. Principe (La Salle)
2017- Jeff Pederson (East Greenwich)
2018- Joseph dosReis (La Salle)
2019- Luke Henseler (Hendricken)
2020- Jack McLoughlin (La Salle)
2021- Devan Kipyego (St. Raphael) JR



Thanks to Norm Bouthillier for contributing to this list



FR = Individual champion was a Freshman

SO = Individual champion was a Sophomore

JR = Individual champion was a Junior

SR = Individual champion was a Senior

Links for Current Standings, Scores and Schedules


Providence Journal



Information on Schools & the RIIL


For questions, comments, corrections, or suggestions relating to this site, please email:



NOTE: This web site and myself are not associated with the RIIL or any school; If you have any questions outside of the content of this site, please direct them to the appropriate contact information on the RIIL web site

Back to Home Page